Fountains

Here you can ask for advice, or even just post your favorite compositions + methods!

Moderators: richardh08, Boophoenix, Lloyd

Tyvole

Fountains

Post by Tyvole »

Ok folks, new topic. I would like to make up some pretty, ground-based fountain fireworks that won't just self-destruct on me. I now have a reasonable inventory of different chems for colours, a few metals etc. I have a 1-ton arbor press and a decent assortment of tubes. I don't really want to get into rolling cones...
I have never tried to make fountains before and have no idea where to start. Can any among you give me some lessons to get me started?
"If you don't learn anything, what's the point?"
Aardvark

Re: Fountains

Post by Aardvark »

Nothing much to offer in the way of advice but I've seen a TT comp based fountain that looked very nice. Should be a fairly easy one. Not sure where I saw it though, sorry bud.

Look forward to your progression, always interested in anything that won't upset the neighbours!
coalman

Post by coalman »

Start simply? I made simple fountains ages before I had access to more detailed information and at the simplest you just mix, fill and see what it's like, then change to suit your taste. Simple comps with larger metal filings can create some lovely effects. Back then I hadn't even heard of milling or anything fancy. Find a recipe and go for it - safely of course.
Search engine with "turbopyro.pdf" for some instructions on one way to do high quality fountains along with other stuff.
Niall

Post by Niall »

Cones require some of their own tooling and quite seperate methods and don't really seem to be abundant in the hobby, to my knowledge.

You could start with BP/RP titanium/magnalium fountains. Or are you saying you gave berm there already?

Important note: never use more than 10% metal by total mass in BP/RP mixes.

The tolerance is somewhat higher, but then do is the risk, so my standard advice rules out anything above 10%.