First Smoke

All Star Formulas go here!

Moderators: richardh08, Boophoenix, Lloyd

sambo

First Smoke

Post by sambo »

I'm making my first foray into smoke mixes. I am completely new to this topic. Can anyone suggest a good starting point for formulas / or what literature to refer to on the topic. Are they all made using chlorates ( forgive me if that's a dumb question ).

Sam.
Lloyd

Re: First Smoke

Post by Lloyd »

Sam,
Yes, they're nearly all made with potassium chlorate, because of the lower temperature of decomposition of that oxidizer. Smoke dyes can be easily destroyed by too-high temperatures. To that end, they are almost always extremely fuel-rich, with only enough oxidizer to help vaporize the dyes.

Of interest in your explorations might be Shimizu's napthtalene (old-style moth balls) black smoke. It won't keep forever, even in shells, because of the high vapor pressure of napthalene, but it's especially dense and beautiful!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Sixty Years"
richardh08
Site Admin

Post by richardh08 »

Lancaster has one or two formulations, including (in Shimizu's chapter) the naphthalene one that Lloyd mentions.

I haven't really experimented with them, but I know that most coloured smokes use potassium chlorate with a low-temperature fuel such as lactose or sucrose, and a very large percentage of the dye.
Even when I'm wrong, I'm convincing.
Lloyd

Post by Lloyd »

Richard,
I've made both ball shells and mines with the napthalene formula. It's astounding!

Lloyd
sambo

Post by sambo »