Ferrosilicon

Safety First! Precautions/procedures and equipment.

Moderators: richardh08, Boophoenix, Lloyd

Tyvole

Ferrosilicon

Post by Tyvole »

Just been reading the MSDS for ferrosilicon, such as you might use in a hot prime if I'm not mistaken. Apparently under thermal decomposition in the presence of water it generates arsine, phosphine and hydrogen! :o
I worked in the semiconductor industry for a while, where arsine and phosphine are used in some processes. Those gases are seriously evil - extremely toxic and pyrophoric nasties. If you can smell garlic or fish, it's probably too late to worry about it.
"If you don't learn anything, what's the point?"
Aardvark

Re: Ferrosilicon

Post by Aardvark »

Scary stuff mate! Good job we have a group of people with some know-how about them here! Me not included of course..

Sam.
richardh08
Site Admin

Post by richardh08 »

Arsine - AsH3
Phosphine - PH3

Where do the arsenic and phosphorus come from?

Are they impurities in the ferrosilicon? If so, then I would imagine the amounts involved would be very small, especially in the quantity of ferrosilicon that is typically included in a pyro composition.

Having said that, as someone who once suffered from a very mild case of cyanide poisoning, I still wouldn't want to be around if they are being generated in any quantity whatsoever.
Even when I'm wrong, I'm convincing.
Tyvole

Post by Tyvole »

I don't know where the As and P come from, I was just astonished to read it in the MSDS. What I do know is that the LD50 for these gases is around 0.3 - 0.5 ppm, which isn't much. There's not really any need for panic though, unless you're in the peculiar habit of sniffing your stars while testing them in the bathroom. :-)
Niall

Post by Niall »

Are you saying I should stop sniffing stars in the bathroom? Can we be clearer here folks?
All wretch and no vomit.......
Aardvark

Post by Aardvark »

Bugger! That's the best part :(
Tyvole

Post by Tyvole »